Visual Healing

Chakra healing uses meditation and visualising to align body frequencies, says alternative therapist Chetna Chakravarthy
By Charu Sharma


Atoms and molecules, matter, energy, vibrations are more than just forgotten words picked up from sixth-grade science textbooks. These are the very essences of meditative healing techniques, especially those that involve intense visualisations. One such technique that’s risen from our ancient texts and evolved over the years is chakra healing or chakra meditation. Chakras are the body’s centres of energy that are fueled by our pranas.

Our body has 114 chakras, starting from our head or crown, going down to our fingertips and toes. But, during a healing or meditation session, we use only seven major chakras that reside within the spine – root or muladhara chakra, sacral or svadhisthana chakra, solar plexus or manipura chakra, heart or anahata chakra, throat or vishuddha chakra, third eye or ajna chakra, and crown or sahasrara chakra. This seven-chakra system is one of many; Buddhists follow a five-chakra system,  while new-age practitioners follow a 13- and sometimes even a 21-chakra system. Chakra healing is often guided meditation, during which the practitioner teaches you to focus on your chakras using the seven colours of the rainbow.

Some other techniques involve the practitioner placing his or her hands on the chakras or just above them, creating a flow of energy between the hands and the body. Today, chakras have become the foundations of several healing techniques, right from chakra healing itself to pranic healing, Reiki and other intuitive energy healing. To explain chakra healing in a guided meditation form: we are all atoms, molecules and matter that are vibrating at a certain frequency. However, based on our desires, goals and individuality, each one of us should be tuned into specific frequencies. Think of these as radio channels.

Through chakra healing, we regulate the flow of prana or our breathing to align our chakras, thus raising or shifting our vibrations. This is one part of the belief. The second part involves each chakra and the functions they have been allocated. Know that, as per the ancient texts, the chakras neither had any colour nor any functions attached to them. The notion that the root chakra is red and represents our space of survival and security is something that came about through different interpretations of the old texts, innovations by authors who write about chakras, and alternative healing practitioners over the years.

During a guided chakra healing session, practitioners guide participants to visualise colours, situations, objects and emotions that are tied to the functions of each chakra. Through this exercise, each individual works on their subconscious to release blocks and to infuse a new thought process. Regular chakra healing makes people feel grounded and steady – mentally and emotionally. Many experience a state of calm through the most chaotic moments of the day. Often, subtle personality changes are experienced too as emotional triggers and reactions change.

Eventually, it makes it possible for the individual to breathe better and sit still, or meditate regularly. Given the daily grind we put ourselves through, meditation is becoming an important habit to cultivate. However, most of us find it hard to sit still for even a minute especially with our minds racing in different directions. Chakra healing is a great way to initiate a practice of being still and training the mind and body to focus better.


CROWN CHAKRA Violet; a space of awareness; our connection to the universe


THIRD EYE CHAKRA Indigo; hones our intuitions and teaches us to trust our thoughts as divine guidance


THROAT CHAKRA Blue; enables clear communication, allowing us to speak the truth with conviction and to listen with compassion and faith


HEART CHAKRA Green; the bridge between body and spirit; forgiveness is the biggest challenge and love the greatest gift of this chakra


SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA Yellow; a space of courage and inner strength; an imbalance leads to doubts, fears and anxiety


SACRAL CHAKRA Orange; connected to emotions and how we feel; conditioning, behavioural patterns, habits, gender identity, sexual expression and sexuality


ROOT CHAKRA Red; issues related to survival and security; emotional security through strong relationships and support systems, financial stability, career growth, success and abundance


Chetna Chakravarthy - Chakra Healing Practitioner
Chetna has also helped people battling with cancer
and liver cirrhosis


Chetna practises oracle card reading, chakra healing and biotouch. Through her practice she has worked with people battling multiple sclerosis, cancer, liver cirrhosis, slipped disc, sciatica, adrenal and chronic fatigue syndrome, anxiety and migraines.